Home Page


Aquatic Links







SAME logo

Southern Association of
Marine Educators (SAME)

Making known the world of water, both fresh and salt.

SAME Committees

Awards and Scholarship Committee: Reviews scholarship applications and chooses the recipient(s); reviews award applications for Outstanding Educator and Outstanding Resource and chooses the recipients.

Members: State representatives Jean May-Brett (LA), Jennifer Buchanan (MS), Judy Reeves (AL) and Chris Verlinde (FL).
Contact person: Jean May-Brett, (225) 342-8993

Bylaws Committee: Studies the Constitution and Bylaws and recommends changes deemed necessary. Chairman: immediate past-President.

Members: Shelia Brown, Dianne Lindstedt, Jennifer Buchanan, Chris Verlinde and Joan Turner
Contact person:
Shelia Brown, (228) 818-8892

Nominating Committee: Prepares email ballots and sends to the membership at least one month before the annual fall meeting; elections every two years. Chairman: immediate past-President.

Members: Chris Verlinde and appointed members
Contact person: Chris Verlinde (850) 623-3868

Programs and Projects Committee: Plans programs for the annual meeting, field trips, or multi-state programs. The Program Committee will consist of the president-elect and appointed members.

Members: Chris Verlinde, Jessica Kastler, Sharon Walker, and John Dindo
Contact person: Chris Verlinde, (850) 623-3868

Promotions and Publicity Committee: Helps with the biannual newsletter, prepares articles about SAME in NMEA newsletters and SAME website. Chairman: current president.

Members: General membership
Contact person: Joan Turner, (251) 861-7554

This site is hosted by the Louisiana Sea Grant College Program
Louisiana Marine Education Resources Web site.